danaxny.blogg.se

I think love is a touch and yet not a touch.
I think love is a touch and yet not a touch.









i think love is a touch and yet not a touch.

Don’t gasp, I’ve shaved my head before (when I first did away with the relaxer), it’s really not that big of a deal. Yup, if I don’t want dreadlocks any more I have to shave off my dreads and start over (though some people with locks have a looser texture which allows them to pick out their dreads instead of just cutting them off).

i think love is a touch and yet not a touch.

I’m a pure “fashion” dread, and my choice in hair is more reflective of my personal style than of any lofty, high-falutin’ belief or a value system (though, I believe that there shouldn’t be a stigma against people of the African diaspora who choose to wear their hair in its natural state/chemically untreated). As one reggae song says, and I quote, “You don’t have fi dread to be rasta”, and conversely, the reverse is true. No, I am not a rasta, and don’t know that much about Rastafarianism so if you wanna know more about it, get thee onto Wikipedia and stop bothering me. Yes, I know my hair looks different on a day to day basis. On lazy days (of which there have been a number, lately) I’ll put my hair in two pig tails. Still, on other days I’ll do some flat twists. Other days I’ll do a couple of French braids. Sometimes I’ll throw in some bantu knots (Liebling refers to them as “balls” LOL). How do I get it to be “like that”(Part two)? I style my hair by doing a plethora of things to it. My head is a bit sore after, but my hair is oh so fresh and clean and you can see the parts and it looks fabulous, so yes, in this case, the beauty is worth the minimal pain. How do I get it to be “like that”? Every 4 to 6 weeks I go to a hair salon in Hong Kong where a stylist (a Vietnamese girl who grew up in Toronto, no less!) takes a carpet hook to my hair and “latches” (basically knots) the new growth I have at the root. But, just to clear up any misundertanding I’ll answer a few of your questions and dispel any myths you may have: I understand that dreads aren’t particularly mainstream, and for you non-black folk out there who haven’t got a clue (and heck, even some black folk), I respect that, well, you haven’t got a clue and may be curious. While I love my hair, I am definitely not amused by some of the stupid (albeit innocent) questions I have gotten about my hair.











I think love is a touch and yet not a touch.